2020 MLB Awards Picks

The 2020 MLB Postseason picture (image credit: CBS Sports)

The 2020 MLB season has come and gone in the blink of an eye. That’s to be expected with this 60 game shortened season but I’m not sure anyone expected it to go by this fast. With this season we’ve seen quite a few unexpected teams and players surprise us and either make playoff berths or have breakout seasons. Major League Baseball also expanded the playoff system this season from 8 to 16 teams and creating a new best 2-out-of-3 wild card series before the division series’. The higher seeds in those wild card series will be the home team for all three potential games. The World Series will be held at the Texas Rangers’ new ballpark in Arlington. The American League field will play at Dodger Stadium and Petco Park starting in the ALDS, while the National League field will play at Minute Maid Park and Globe Life Park starting with the NLDS. There will also be no off days between games in each series besides the World Series.

For the first time I will be doing an “All MLB Team” like the NBA does their “First Team All NBA” and the NFL does their “First Team All Pro” teams. I will also be doing an “All Rookie Team” as well, despite MLB not doing either of those at all. And of course I will be making my postseason picks as well. Let’s get to it

NL Wild Card Series:
#1 Los Angeles Dodgers over #8 Milwaukee Brewers 2-0
#7 Cincinnati Reds over #2 Atlanta Braves 2-1
#6 Miami Marlins over #3 Chicago Cubs 2-1
#4 San Diego Padres over #5 St.Louis Cardinals 2-1

AL Wild Card Series:
#1 Tampa Bay Rays over #8 Toronto Blue Jays 2-1
#7 Chicago White Sox over #2 Oakland A’s 2-1
#6 Houston Astros over #3 Minnesota Twins 2-1
#4 Cleveland Indians over #5 New York Yankees 2-1

#1 Los Angeles Dodgers over #4 San Diego Padres 3-1
#7 Cincinnati Reds over #6 Miami Marlins 3-1

#1 Tampa Bay Rays over #4 Cleveland Indians 3-2
#7 Chicago White Sox over #6 Houston Astros 3-1

#1 Los Angeles Dodgers over #7 Cincinnati Reds 4-2

#1 Tampa Bay Rays over #7 Chicago White Sox 4-2

World Series:
#1 Los Angeles Dodgers over #1 Tampa Bay Rays 4-2

MVP Awards:
NL: Freddie Freeman, 1B, Atlanta Braves
AL: Jose Ramirez, 3B, Cleveland Indians

Cy Young Awards:
NL: Trevor Bauer, SP, Cincinnati Reds
AL: Shane Bieber, SP, Cleveland Indians

Rookie Of The Year Awards:
NL: Devin Williams, RP, Milwaukee Brewers
AL: Kyle Lewis, OF, Seattle Mariners

Comeback Player Of The Year Awards:
NL: Trevor Bauer, SP, Cincinnati Reds
AL: Byron Buxton, OF, Minnesota Twins

Manager Of The Year Awards:
NL: Jayce Tingler, San Diego
AL: Kevin Cash, Tampa Bay

C: J.T. Realmuto, Philadelphia Phillies
1B: Freddie Freeman, Atlanta Braves
2B: D.J. LeMahieu, New York Yankees
3B: Jose Ramirez, Cleveland Indians
SS: Tim Anderson, Chicago White Sox
OF: Mookie Betts, Los Angeles Dodgers
OF: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels
OF: Juan Soto, Washington Nationals
SP: Shane Bieber, Cleveland Indians
RP: Devin Williams, Milwaukee Brewers

ALL Rookie Team:
C: Sean Murphy, Oakland A’s
1B: Jared Walsh, Los Angeles Angels
2B: Jake Cronenworth, San Diego Padres
3B: Alec Bohm, Philadelphia Phillies
SS: Willi Castro, Detroit Tigers
OF: Kyle Lewis, Seattle Mariners
OF: Luis Robert, Chicago White Sox
OF: Ryan Mountcastle, Baltimore Orioles
SP: Tony Gonsolin, Los Angeles Dodgers
RP: Devin Williams, Milwaukee Brewers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s